Class schedule:

This calendar is updated weekly, indicating which textbook sections we plan to cover. It is where you will find paper HW assignments, test review documents, and other useful handouts.


UNIT 1: Integral Applications

Week 1:

  • Mon Aug 13. Introduction to the course (see the syllabus at the top of this page), and some slight review of derivatives.
  • Tue Aug 14. Start Chapter 5 Review: the definite and indefinite integral, Fundamental Theorem of Calculus.
  • Wed Aug 15. Chapter 5 Review: u-substitution.
  • Fri Aug 17. Finish Chapter 5 Review: area between two curves.
    • In-class practice
    • The first WW set (review of Chapter 5 on integration) is due on Monday, but it's pretty long; make sure you start it this week.
    • (Most WW due dates will not be advertised on this site, but I'll point out the first due date.)

 

Quiz this week: None

 

There's no paper HW this week: it starts next week.


Week 2:

  • Mon Aug 20. Start 6.1: 3D volumes by integrating cross-sections
  • Tue Aug 21. 6.1: Volumes of revolution using disks
  • Wed Aug 22. Finish 6.1: Volumes of revolution using washers
  • Fri Aug 24. Start 6.2: Volumes of revolution using shells

 

Quiz this week: Chapter 5 Review (either u-substitution or area between curves)

 

Paper HW 1, due Friday August 24

  • You may want to look at last week's demo assignment to see the kind of explanations I include.
  • Usually, (partial) solutions are uploaded to eLC one class day after the due date.

Week 3:

  • Mon Aug 27. Finish Section 6.2: Comparing washers and shells.
  • Tue Aug 28. Section 6.3: arc length.
  • Wed Aug 29. Section 6.4: surface area of solids of revolution.
  • Fri Aug 31. Start Section 6.5: work in 1 dimension (weight, emptying a tank).

 

Quiz this week: Section 6.1

  • There's no class on Monday September 3 (Labor Day), but there is a quiz on the day after that when we return!

 

Paper HW 2, due Friday August 31


Week 4:

  • Tue Sep 4. Finish Section 6.5. Spring force and work, average values of curves.
  • Wed Sep 5. Start Section 7.2. Separable differential equations.
  • Fri Sep 7. Finish Section 7.2. Exponential word problems based on the diff eq dA/dt = kA.

 

Quiz this week: Section 6.2.

 

Paper HW 3, due Friday September 7

 

TEST 1 IS NEXT TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 11, IN CLASS.

  • This test covers Chapter 5 Review, Sections 6.1, 6.2, 6.3, 6.4, 6.5, and 7.2.
  • Expect 6 to 8 questions, somewhere between quiz problems and paper set problems in difficulty.
    • You may have a problem which asks you to set up an integral but not actually finish getting an antiderivative.
    • You may get a question testing if you know definitions of the terminology used in class!
  • Calculators may be used as long as they cannot do derivatives, integrals, or graphs. (A TI-30XS Multiview is definitely a safe choice.)
  • You have to show work, but you usually don't have to write detailed explanations like in paper HW.
    • If a question asks for explanation, you can keep it brief (i.e. one sentence).
  • Here's a topic list for Test 1.
  • Here are some practice problems for Test 1.
    • We will have a review day in class on Monday September 10, mostly to go over practice problems or any other questions you may have.

Week 5:

 

No quiz for this week

 

No paper HW for this week


UNIT 2: Integral Techniques

Week 6:

 

Quiz this week: Section 8.1.

 

Paper HW 4, due Friday September 21


Week 7:

  • Mon Sep 24. Finish Section 8.3: more trig sub practice, combining trig sub with other u-subs.
  • Tue Sep 25. Start Section 8.4: partial fractions, linear factors.
  • Wed Sep 26. Continue Section 8.4: repeated linear factors.
  • Fri Sep 28. Finish Section 8.4: irreducible quadratic factors, and introduction to long division.

 

Quiz this week: Section 8.3 (12 minutes)

 

Paper HW 5, due Friday September 28 


Week 8:

 

Quiz this week: Section 8.4 (12 minutes)

 

Paper HW 6, due Friday October 5

 

TEST 2 IS NEXT TUESDAY, OCTOBER 9, IN CLASS.

  • This test covers Sections 8.1, 8.2, 8.3, 8.4, 8.7, and the Extra_Integrals WeBWorK set.
    • Section 8.6 (Trapezoid and Simpson's Rules) are not on the test.
  • Expect 6 to 8 questions.
    • Some problems will help break down long problems into smaller steps. Please read carefully.
    • If you get stuck on an early part, you might be able to still get credit on later parts if you reason as consistently as you can from your earlier mistake.
  • Abbreviations of numbers are legal, as long as they are clearly marked, unless the problem indicates otherwise.
  • Calculators may be used as long as they cannot do derivatives, integrals, or graphs. (A TI-30XS Multiview is definitely a safe choice.)
  • You have to show work, but you usually don't have to write detailed explanations like in paper HW.
    • If a question asks for explanation, you can keep it brief (i.e. one sentence).
  • Topic list for the test
  • Practice questions for the test
    • In-class review day is Monday October 8.

Week 9:

  • Mon Oct 8: Review for Test 2
  • Tue Oct 9TEST 2
  • Wed Oct 10: Start Section 9.1. Writing infinite sequences (explicitly or recursively), basic limits of sequences, dominant-terms shortcut.
  • Fri Oct 12: Finish Section 9.1. More about dominant terms (i.e. ln(n) << n^p << b^n), limits of f(n)^{g(n)} form, a bit about the Sandwich Theorem for oscillating sequences.

 

No quiz this week

 

No paper HW this week


UNIT 3: Infinite Series and Taylor Polynomials

Week 10:

  • Mon Oct 15: Start Section 9.2. Infinite series, telescoping series, nth-term test, geometric series sums.
  • Tue Oct 16: Finish Section 9.2. More practice with geometric series, including writing a function as a series.
  • Wed Oct 17: Section 9.3. Using integrals to determine series convergence (Integral Test), p-series.
  • Fri Oct 19: Section 9.4. Limit Comparison and Comparison Tests for series.

 

Quiz this week: Section 9.1 (10 minutes)

 

Paper HW 7, due Friday October 19

  • This homework mostly involves the first day of Section 9.2. It's not about a lot of algebra; it makes you grapple with appropriate terminology and ideas related to infinite series!


Last updated: 10/14/2018