• Hurricane Ridge, WA
    Hurricane Ridge, WA
  • White Bay, BVI
    White Bay, BVI
  • Porto, Portugal
    Porto
  • Lake Lucerne, Switzerland
    Lucerne
  • Salzburg, Austria
    Salzburg

MATH 4010, Spring 2018

Lattice_diagram_of_Q_adjoin_the_square_roots_of_2_and_3_its_subfields_and_Galois_groups.svg.pngAnnouncements

Dec. 18: Syllabus will be has been posted before the first day of class (Jan. 5). Course text will be:

  • Abstract Algebra: A Geometric Approach, by Theodore Shifrin

Jan. 8: Assignment 1 due date postponed to Wed. Jan. 17 due to class cancellation on Mon. Jan. 8 and MLK holiday.

Jan. 8: Office hour today canceled due to weather.

Jan. 17: Assignment 1 due date postponed (again) to Fri. Jan. 19 due to UGA closure today. Advanced problems will be due at the same time.

Jan. 22: Monday office hours changed to 1:15-2:15 from now on (starting today).

Feb. 13: Test 1 Mon. Feb. 19 will cover sections 6.1-6.4 and 7.1.

Mar. 29: Test 2 Wed. Apr. 4 will cover sections 7.2-7.5 (but not the classification of isometries of R^3).

Apr. 5: The advanced problem from Asst. 11 has been moved to Asst. 12 (now due Fri. Apr. 20).

Homework

Homework is due at the beginning of class. Problems are from the text unless specified otherwise. I prefer homework stapled in the upper left corner and not folded. Your write-ups must be your own work. Hand in Core and Advanced problems separately (two separate piles)

Assignment Due Date
Asst. 1 Fri. Jan. 19
Asst. 2 Fri. Jan. 26
Asst. 3 Fri. Feb. 2
Asst. 4 Fri. Feb. 9
Asst. 5 Fri. Feb. 16
Asst. 6 Fri. Feb. 23
Asst. 7 Fri. Mar. 2
Asst. 8 Fri. Mar. 9
Asst. 9 Fri. Mar. 23
Asst. 10 Fri. Mar. 30
Asst. 11 Fri. Apr. 6
Asst. 12 Fri. Apr. 13
Asst. 13 Fri. Apr. 20
Asst. 14 Wed. Apr. 25

Links

Course Syllabus

Tutoring Services (free and paid)